A Time to Weed

One of my favorite things to do is garden.  I have several small gardens around my yard and each Spring I cannot wait to get outside and nurture the plants.  I start with cleaning off the dead at the end of April and plant annuals and new perennials at the beginning of May. Then, I try to keep the weeds at bay.  Unfortunately, I was not able to work in my gardens until today.  As I pulled the weeds in an effort to find my lovely perennials I realized how much they represented my life. 

Have you ever piled your plate so high that only a little bit of everything gets done and some things go to the wayside? With three children and their activities, a wonderful husband, full-time job outside the home, church committees, writing, extended family and friends, social events and the musicals, I’ve allowed myself to become so busy that I didn’t know if I am coming or going.   In all of this, I’ve gotten away from reading: novels, devotionals and the Bible, with the exception of planning my Sunday School lesson and worshiping in church. 

My life needs to be weeded as much as my garden.  I need to limit the amount of time I spend on the unimportant and more on the important – prayer and family.  Once the weeds are gone, my focus will return, as it did today when I realized what I had been missing.  It may sound crazy, but this is often a time when I renew my spirit.  This is when my mind doesn’t have to focus on what I am doing, but opens and I ask God the important question – what do you want me to do for You?  Perhaps this is why everything has seemed overwhelming of late.  I’ve been so busy doing that I forgot to be led.

Does this just happen to me, or have you had occasions where your life is so full of weeds you lose focus of what is most important?

Leave a Reply

